Day in The Life of A Brain Injury Survivor

A day in the life of myself as a brain injury survivor has been made as normal as possible over the years. Number one is to wake up with a attitude of gratitude for every day of life You see every day to me is a gift from God. Every day I take my medication, eat, get dressed and go to work. Right now my work is as a writer and blogger. Drink too much coffee to combat my medication so I can get my day’s work done. I have been a student, have two degrees, taught English to immigrants, worked  as a bakery clerk, security guard, in human services,  and have had the opportunity to be a writer and speaker.

. You see I was faced with my own mortality six times by the age of seven. My last brain surgery was December 31.1981 at he age 7. The surgeon operated on me for nearly five hours with a blood clot the size of an orange after getting my head rammed under a school desk. Started working on homework once I got out of ICU. My parents have always been there for me. They helped me with my homework and pushed me to give my best effort . They my parents wanted me to work and to work smart. My parents have always been great teachers and fans.

I have gone through occupational and physical therapy on the right side of my body due to having surgery on the left side of my head. Working on cognitive and physical therapy as well. When you recovery from TBI it is a life long endeavor. I wake up every day and see a scar along the left side of my head. A badge of honor for the 49 stitches that closed the incision so I could live. My belief in God and miracles is for many reasons including surviving my last brain surgery. Yes the surgeon did a masterful job which I am forever grateful. Many family members and friends from Canada and the United States prayed and gave their support to my parents and myself. Miracles still happen and I believe that  my last 31 years have been a gift from God.

Life is a gift given for us to live to the fullest able bodied or disabled. Life is full of surprises with joy, sorrow, anger, bargaining, setback and overcoming the odds. Attitude is everything in life. Did I have bad days, was scared or discouraged in my journey and the answer is yes. Did my faith, family and courage to carry on become a rallying cry and the answer is yes. Do I think I am special or heroic and the answer is no. Do I want to encourage brain injury survivors, individuals with disability and anyone who has encountered a loss in life to grieve and overcome? Yes this is my goal to inspire others to achieve their goals, use their gifts and talents. We are not an island unto ourselves. Living in community with supports to live a new normal has been key to my journey and can be helpful to others with a disability.

The heroic life saving stories at the Boston Bombing of First Responders, ordinary citizens, law enforcement has renewed my hope in humanity. The U.S. soldier who was Afghanistan War veteran who is a double amputee encouraging new amputees that life will get better and they will do things in the future. A self less act to reassure this lady yes she is an amputee but it doesn’t have to define you. You can be a victor and can overcome your circumstances. Prosthetics have come along way and the soldier said you can live a productive life. The soldier is now training for the Para Olympics in track and field for the U.S.A. in 2014. How awesome is that story to overcome the adversity of being a double amputee.

The day in the life of a brain injury survivor is full of reality, dreams, work, family, friends and being the best you can be. This is my life and I hope you enjoy the journey to those who follow my blog. I am at twitter and facebook at Tylor Stingel. My email is tylorjstingel@hotmail.com as well.

Take care and may you follow your dreams! Ty Stingel

Leave a Reply

