My Dad

Thanks for being my dad and hero through the years

I stood on your hand as a baby boy

My trust in you and you had my back and were never coy

Through the times of laughter, frustration and tears.

You introduced me in prayer to the Heavenly Father in prayer

To call on Jesus morning, noon and night to gain wisdom, strength and seek His love

Gaining strength from above but to be kind and harmless as a dove

I will be forever grateful for you leading me in that Salvation prayer.

Those time on the baseball field were life lessons to be taught

Every pitch, catch or hit was a journey between father and son

Your patience and understanding made me feel loved

With every workout and every pitch caught.

Those spelling lessons over the phone

Teaching my multiplication tables with diligence and care

With patience and fun teaching style with little flare

You have always had a heart of gold and never of stone.

Now you are a glowing grandfather

Of three handsome boys today

Who you support and will pray

Oh what a wonderful legacy as my dad and a grandfather.

By Ty Stingel

For Father’s Day June 16, 2013

 

Leave a Reply

