Miracles Happen: Mi Cabaeza Familia

To all those who don’t speak Spanish mi cabaeza familia means my head family. All of my family has been effected or work with individuals who have head injuries or done both. My dad has had a few concussions, my sister had migraines that led to brain surgery to take off the calcium deposit  and the surgeon put in a plastic plate in her head when she was 18. My mom becoming a Registered Psychiatric Nurse in a brain injury unit for over 20 years. My story being mentioned in previous blogs of my 6 brain surgeries in my first 7 years.

Here is where the miracles come in for our family. All of us have led productive lives using our talents. My sister is a great cook and leader in her job. She has also worked in a bakery and deli department as a manager. Dad has been a teacher and a welder for over 40 years. He has overcome a blood disease, a diabetic coma that lasted 9 days and an aortic aneurysm that was caught just in time. He also lives admirably with diabetes for the last 20 years. My mom is the rock and has lived with fibromyalgia for the the past 15 years.The miracle for be is that I am alive, I can walk, talk and I am not blind. When I attempted to track a fly ball as a outfielder as a child my dad may differ on my seeing abilities but all in all I do well.The miracles are many by God, surgeons hands, positive attitude and human will.

Miracles are not some biblical myth. They miracle are a real thing. Just the other day I witnessed one with my dad reading this big book on World War 1 when doctors said he would have a hard time focusing after his coma 6 years ago. Some may call this perseverance but my family and I have witnessed his recovery and know this is an amazing development. If you can’t tell my dad is one of my hero’s. God has done some amazing things in his life.

So what are the miracles big or small that have happened in your family, to your friends, your community or yourself? If you slow down you may see what amazing developments have happened from supernatural and natural actions by people God uses. One of the coolest miracles is a newborn baby. My parents called my sister and I gifts from God. 

You may agree or disagree on the subjects of miracles. However it is a subject we should all ponder. Young or old, rich or poor, able bodied or disabled. All I can tell you from my perspective I have seen these forces of light descend on people that I love and change our lives.

By Ty Stingel

June 17, 2013

 

 

Leave a Reply

