Discrimination

I was watching the movie “42” The Jackie Robinson story. An era of very poor race relations after World War 2.  A white general manager Branch Rickey of the Brooklyn Dodgers Baseball Club wanted to right a personal and an injustice in Major League Baseball by breaking the color line in this sport. The only catch for Jackie was that he could not fight back in his first year. He debut was April 15, 1947 were Mr Robinson was the first African American in the Majors. The discrimination and hostility against him was great. Racial slurs, leading the league in being hit by a pitch, being spiked. Jackie turned the other cheek and let his playing do the talking which was an almost super human feat.

So how does this story fit in with my blog. I relate to being discriminated against as a disabled person and living with a Traumatic Brain Injury most of my life. Like Jackie I have developed a thick skin too gossip about my disability instead of my ability. Martin Luther King in his “I Have A Dream” speech had a transformational sentence. I have a dream where my children will be judged by the content of their character not the color of their skin. Just like Dr. King I have a dream that all disabled people get treated equal. That could always be a dream but one can hope that people can look beyond their difference and see who God made them to be.

A Latino, African American or person from any other nation should be given a fair shot at employment and raising there families just as the white race. I say the same applications for living, employment and fair treatment should be given to the disabled child or adult as is to the able bodied child or adult.

Branch Rickey asked Jackie to turn the other cheek just like the Savior Jesus Christ who paid the ultimate price for mankind. Anyone who has been discriminated must rise above the bigotry, hatred and ignorance. Yes their will always be discrimination but we can make a difference. I believe in the power of one person standing up for someone or something they believe in.

You can tell I am fired up about this subject. God is good and I ask forgiveness when I am angered about discrimination in my life. The power of love and acceptance is greater therefore I want to achieve and be successful to prove the critics wrong and be an example to others.

By Ty Stingel

July 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

