Discrimination Part 2

My own discrimination started early in life due to being adopted as kids can be cruel. This was the era of the late 1970’s early 1980’s. My parents told me I was chosen and a gift from God which eased the hurt and made me more mentally tough to the harsh words of the world that doesn’t except a person for being different. Fast forward to this year and the reconnection with my birth mom. I have the best of both worlds. In the bible it talks about there being two mercies granted for every woe.

Discrimination due to my disability has been brutally overt or at times very subtle in non acceptance of who I Tylor John Stingel am as a disabled man living in this world trying to make a way for himself. Yes I don’t drive due to my previous brain injury history and having a epilepsy condition. This does not make me less of a person. Yes finding a place to call my home in work, residence and being comfortable in my own skin is a daily adventure. God is not finished with me yet and He has not given up on me. Therefore I will not give up on me despite struggles to be accepted.

I can only imagine the discrimination and cruel talk that could have gone on behind my birth mom’s back as she was an unwed mother being pregnant with me. This is a cruel fact of life for unwed mothers for decades especially in the last 3 or 4 decades where the subject of teen age pregnancy was brought out in the open. God loves that unwed pregnant mother, he loves that baby no matter the circumstances as God is a God of grace, mercy and love.

I am a writer,advocate and have had jobs and will again in the helps profession. I would love to teach in some form again one day. I love to see the sense of achievement on a child or adults face learning something new especially when I teach English as Second Language.

Yes we as humans discriminate but asking our Higher Power for forgiveness and showing people grace and mercy will make us the bigger person. There is always someone in a worse condition than our self. Having an attitude of gratitude for the talent, spiritual gifts and a soft heart that God gives us when we follow Him is important. Yes we have to compete and struggle to make a way in the world. God will reward us for our obedience and live a life filled with knowledge, acceptance, wisdom and love in a this hard and unforgiving world we can live in too make a difference in people’s lives.

By Ty Stingel

July 30, 2013

Leave a Reply

