Music and My Journey

Music and my journey were critical in my rehabilitation. When I was a child listening to 50’s and 60’s pop rock groups was common. Elvis Presley, The Beach Boys, several country artists were common in my house. My dad played some songs on his guitar. He also shared with me the music of The Sons of The Pioneers. The last influence was gospel from my parents.

When I got older folk music from the 1970’s especially Jim Croce, James Taylor and Creedence Clearwater Revival. These artists music were calming influence. I love Spanish guitar music. Rodrigo y Gabriela are my favorite group. Something stirs in me when I listen to this type of music.

Lately Serena Ryder, Mumford and Sons, Il Volo and Adele are my favorite groups to listen to calm me down or motivation music. Everyone’s musical tastes are different but anyone who has faced an illness or disability music can relieve stress and motivate to live life to the fullest. This has been the case for me in dealing with the affects of acquired brain injury and epilepsy.

Music soothes the savage beast as the old saying goes. I would love to hear how music has inspired, motivated or had a healing affect for others with illness or disability. Anyone interested in doing so can send your stories to my email t_stingel@yahoo.com or at Tylor Stingel on my Facebook account.

By Ty Stingel

November 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

