Coming To My Senses

Coming to my senses

Is not just an emotional awakening of the soul

But to taste, touch, smell, hear and see when the day unfolds

Praying I won’t be blinded by cloudy lenses.

The gift of life can be wasted and there is nothing sadder

What if we have one or more of our senses taken away

Do we curse our luck, like we have no value like a tossed away piece of clay

Yes life gives us challenges and it’s how we use our lives that matters.

Some days I can only feel  hot or cold on my right side

But their is nothing wrong with my taste buds when eating a meal

Or the smell of beautiful flowers from a freshly cut field

Taking delight in the song of a bird and watching it glide.

Then again I need to come to my senses and to be free

For the things I do have and seeking favor

To the God who gives me breath and life to savour

We all have strengths and weaknesses you see.

And who am I to tell you what to believe and say what’s right

Just know with this life we have the choice to receive

So we can give with our abundance of riches and truly breath

No I am not just talking about money though that is nice.

It is our talent, time, teaching and a helping hand

No matter the challenges that lay ahead today

We can make a difference in our work and play

Rich or poor, sickness or health we can say I will and I can.

Making this world a better place should be appealing

To lift a brother or sister up who needs love, mercy and grace

Leaving a legacy for family, friends to follow while they see us life with a joyful face

Coming to one’s senses gives a person no greater feeling.

By Ty Stingel

February 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

